However Cold the Winter by Garnett Ann Schultz

🎄 Holiday Literature:

This poem came to my attention through a relative of mine in Minnesota where I grew up. It views Winter as cold but beautiful, snowy but with traces of green, dark but with a ray of light. A light which as Ms. Schultz described in her poem the sign of spring and a new beginning, right around the corner. As we mark the first day of Winter, let us keep this in mind. To the relative who was wondering who wrote this, I checked it out and hopefully have answered your question.

.

🕯️🕯️🕯️🕯️🎄🕊️❄️☃️ THE FLENSBURG FILES

Winter Time by Robert Louis Stevenson

Photo by Janez Podnar on Pexels.com

.

Holiday Literature ⛄🎄

To kick off the winter season and continuing on with the Christmas series, we have a classic poem that pays tribute to the season that is long known for snowmen, ice skating, igloos and snow angels to name a few. In this poem, written by classic English poet Robert Louis Stevenson (1850-1894), it looks at winter from the aspect of the cold, the wind and the man’s bravery as he fights the elements while leading the horses across the fields and to his destination. The poem was published in 1913, 19 years after Stevenson’s death. Still, it belongs to the best poems whose theme is with winter time. And for that, enjoy. 😊🏡

.

Late lies the wintry sun a-bed,   
A frosty, fiery sleepy-head;
Blinks but an hour or two; and then,
A blood-red orange, sets again.


Before the stars have left the skies,
At morning in the dark I rise;
And shivering in my nakedness,
By the cold candle, bathe and dress.


Close by the jolly fire I sit
To warm my frozen bones a bit;
Or with a reindeer-sled, explore
The colder countries round the door.

When to go out, my nurse doth wrap
Me in my comforter and cap;
The cold wind burns my face, and blows
Its frosty pepper up my nose.

Black are my steps on silver sod;
Thick blows my frosty breath abroad;
And tree and house, and hill and lake,
Are frosted like a wedding-cake.

🕯️🕯️🕯️🕯️🎄🕊️❄️❤️ THE FLENSBURG FILES