An Interview with Jill Dennison

2024 will be considered a pivotal year in politics- one that shape the landscape for many years to come. Even though 2020 was considered the year that we sent Donald Trump packing, four years later, we are at the same spot again but this time, we may see the red wave instead of the blue wave. And while democracy has endured four years of Trump, its after-effects since then, combined with the ongoing warfare in the Middle East and Ukraine and threats from Russia and China may be too much to handle. Its effects have already rubbed off onto Europe as we are seeing countries fall to far-right governments like dominoes- first with Hungary, then Italy, Portugal, Slovakia and most recently, the Netherlands. Even in Germany, we are seeing the right-wing cancer spreading with the September elections in three eastern German states expecting to see the far-right AfD be the strongest party in the polls and thus enter a governing coalition for the first time since the end of World War II. This leads to the question of how we can unify as a family and as a country to defend the principles that were set forth by our forefathers. How can we keep people like Donald Trump and other dictators from seizing power again?

This is where Jill Dennison comes in. Ms. Dennison has a website called Filosofa’s Word, which focuses not only on literary reviews, but also the current politics that are unraveling in the US and Europe and their impact on the future of the residents living there. I had a chance to interview her about the current situation in the US and what we should do to finally come to the realization that we have some pressing issues threatening democracy. Here are some interesting facts I learned from her that should be useful to you:

*******

  • Tell us a little bit about yourself.

Despite having spent the entirety of my career in the Accounting field, my main interests lie in political science, history, and writing.  After retiring in 2008, it took me a while, but I found my niche in blogging where I get to combine all of my interests and then some!  The loves of my life are my daughter and granddaughter, both of whom live with me.  I am what is termed ‘woke’ in today’s vernacular, and proud of it! 

  • When you started your blog in 2012, it was about book reviews, according to your biography in your website. What kind of books did you write a review about and what was your favorite book?

A variety!  Back then, before blogging took over my life, I read several books every week, some fiction, by authors such as Nora Roberts, John Grisham, Nelson DeMille, and others non-fiction by such as Adam Makos, Laura Hillenbrand, Jon Meacham, etc.  I think that of the books I reviewed during that time, my favourite is probably “Unbroken” by Laura Hillenbrand.  It is the story of Louis Zamperini, a young Olympics runner who enlisted during World War II, his plane was shot down over the ocean, and he was ultimately captured.  I believe the book was also made into a movie, and I highly recommend it!

  • You pointed out that the coming of Donald Trump led you to becoming a political columnist. Why was that?

While I mostly wrote book reviews, I had written a few posts that were socio-political, such as about the killing of Trayvon Martin in February 2012, driverless cars, the seeming decline of common courtesy, bigotry, voting rights, etc.  Although I’ve long had a fascination with and interest in politics, I just never thought about writing much about it.  But the more his base ignorance was put on display, and the more people started leaning toward him, it puzzled me.  At the time, in 2015 into the first part of 2016, I didn’t see him as a threat, didn’t even take him seriously as a candidate, and thought that if anything, his candidacy should make it easier for Hillary Clinton to win by a landslide.  I wrote just a few posts about Trump, Hillary, the election at first, but I found that it … called me.  I had something to say, and people were actually reading my posts for the first time!  I went from writing one or two posts a week back in 2015 to now when I do three posts a day, almost every day! 

  • How dangerous is Donald Trump?

If you had asked me that 8 years ago, I would have said “not very, for he’s not intelligent enough to do much damage.”  Today, I would say that he is the tool being used by smarter people to break the democratic foundation of this nation and that as such, he poses the greatest political threat of our times in this nation.  Worse yet, if he is returned to the Oval Office, and if he is able to carry out his plans, the damage won’t be limited to the U.S., but there will be a global impact as he disregards treaties, the environment, pulls the U.S. out of NATO, and turns against our allies in favour of autocrats like Vladimir Putin, Viktor Orbán, and Kim Jong-un.

  • The US has become a two-party system that has basically discouraged other (third) parties from campaigning and getting piece of the pie in terms of electoral votes, etc. In your opinion, how has that affected the elections process as well as American Democracy?

I can look at it two ways.  We get a lot of nutcase third-party candidates, so in that sense I’m glad there are rules governing the eligibility of those candidates.  Up until recently, the two-party system served us pretty well … not perfect, but then what is?  But of late, the two parties are 180° apart in almost every way, and I think it would be beneficial to have other, more moderate options.  However, when I look at this year’s main third-party candidate, a man who disavows science, who is riding his family’s name, with little or no qualifications, I cringe.  He is not my idea of a viable third-party candidate!  I think a multi-party system is something worth considering, but frankly I don’t think it is likely to happen any time soon.  What I would like to see most is certain criteria for the presidency.  Currently, the only job qualifications required are that the person be a natural-born citizen, 35 years of age or older, and have lived in the U.S. for the last 14 years.  I would like to see some education and experience qualifications, and maybe a cognitive assessment or IQ test!

  • This upcoming election will see a redux between Joe Biden and Donald Trump, something that has been talked about especially because of age. Why are Americans supporting them?

Well, in part Joe Biden is (or will be) the Democratic nominee because he’s the incumbent, and it’s rare that an incumbent isn’t chosen to run for a 2nd term.  But also in part, he has done a good job, especially considering the hurdles and obstacles that he has had to navigate just to get anything done.  His accomplishments speak for themselves, contrary to what some Republicans would tell you.  I will admit that I wish Biden were 10 years younger, but he isn’t, and there really is nobody younger on the scene who could win the election in November. 

As for Trump, the media has given him such a loud voice and kept him in the forefront of people’s minds since he left office in January 2021 after being twice impeached.  He is loud, he is raucous, he doesn’t care what he says, has no filter for his mouth, and there seem to be a lot of people who prefer the entertainment he provides over a solid, but perhaps less exciting, candidate.  The Trump following is often referred to as a ‘cult’ and I’m inclined to agree with that … it is people who are dissatisfied or perhaps bored with the status quo, and Trump is definitely outside the status quo!

I think that in 2028 we will see some much younger candidates on both sides, perhaps Nikki Haley for the Republicans and Cory Booker or Hakeem Jeffries for the Democrats.  But for 2024, it’s Biden and Trump, and not voting is not an acceptable way of saying the candidates are both ‘too old.’

  • In the 2000 Elections, we has a low voter turnout which resulted in the Florida Voting Scandal that went to the Supreme Court. There are talks that the voter turnout will be equally low. What are the dangers of this upcoming elections as a result?

It seems that there is some basis for the predictions of low voter turnout, which is why you’ll find me frequently urging people to get out and VOTE!  Here’s the thing … if every eligible voter voted, Donald Trump would lose by a hefty margin, for the Democrats are in the majority.  That’s why so many states have worked diligently since 2020 to implement new voter restrictions, to reduce postal voting, poll hours, early voting, polling locations, etc.  When voting is made more difficult, more people throw their hands up and say, “to heck with it, I just won’t bother.”  And if fewer people vote, the odds increase for the Republicans – a party with no platform and an unqualified candidate.

  • There are fears that Donald Trump would turn the US into  a dictatorship if re-elected president. Would you agree?

I absolutely agree.  I don’t think there can be any doubt that an authoritarian government is the goal.  I thought Trump wanted to be a dictator during his first term, and he did, but he just didn’t know how to go about destroying the democratic foundation.  The built-in safeguard held the line.  But now he has help … if you read the Heritage Foundation’s “Project 2025”, you will see a plan that is chilling in its detail, and the people to help him carry out the plan have already been chosen for their dedication to fascism, to a nation run by white supremacists.  And yes, make no mistake, one part of Trump’s appeal is based on racism.

  • What’s your predictions regarding the outcome in the November elections?

I’m cautiously optimistic that President Biden will prevail, but … I think it will be close, and I think that if Biden does win, there will be a period of violence and election challenges by the Trumpeters.  I hope the Department of Justice and all law enforcement agencies are better prepared this time than they were on January 6th 2021.  Again, my optimism is cautious for two reasons:  people aren’t thinking for themselves these days, and the war in the Middle East.

  • The Donald Trump effect has created a „red wave „, where far-right parties have come to power in much of Europe, like Italy, Slovakia, Hungary, the Netherlands and Croatia, and has garnered a lot of influence in regions in Germany and France. What is your take on this development?

Oh my … I could write a book on this one!  I’ll try to do a Cliff Notes version, though.  I believe that, while there are numerous contributing factors, the main cause of this ‘red wave’ has its roots in the Arab Spring movement that led to mass migration into Europe and North America.  Both Donald Trump and in the UK, Brexit, are direct results of that mass migration and what came to be known as the ‘populist movement.’  The populist movement ushered in the likes of Donald Trump in the U.S., Boris Johnson in the UK, Jair Bolsonaro in Brazil, and may yet give rise to Marine LePen in France, among others. 

Climate change also has a role in this ‘red wave’ as we begin seeing the effects that scientists have been warning us about for decades, and as food and water scarcity is already being seen in parts of Africa and the Middle East.  Globally, changes in lifestyles are inevitable if we are to save life here on Planet Earth, but people balk at being asked to give up their gas-guzzling SUVs, their gas stoves, turn the thermostat down and some lights off.  The far right candidates promise them they can keep their comfortable lifestyles, promise them they will get rid of all the immigrants (Donald Trump is promising to deport some 20 million people, 6% of the population of the U.S.). 

In a nutshell, it boils down to racism & greed – two of the world’s biggest problems throughout history.

  • What are the main problems facing America and the world and why are we not paying attention to them?

The single biggest problem facing the entire globe today is the environment.  For decades, scientists have warned about carbon emissions, plastic pollution, toxic chemicals and more, and we have largely ignored the warnings.  We still are ignoring them … look, in Florida this month, Governor DeSantis basically made the very words “climate change” taboo and is determined to ignore the science for his own selfish goals.  Donald Trump would do the same, only on a much larger scale.  Too many politicians are beholden to the fossil fuel industry and are putting their own fortunes ahead of the 8+ billion people on the planet. 

The second biggest problem I see is wealth inequality – the rich get richer while the poor get poorer.  There is what I call a “reverse Robin Hood” mentality here in the U.S. and in other countries as well … rob from the poor and give to the rich so that they can get even richer.  When a wealthy person with billions of dollars to their name pays a lower rate of taxes than the average worker who struggles to pay the rent and put food on the table, then we’ve got a problem. 

And the third is the rise in bigotry in all its forms and the hatred/violence that it brings.  This is a problem all over the world, is happening in every nation, and I won’t go in depth here, for I get carried away and would have far too many words to say!  Suffice it to say, we are destroying ourselves, destroying the human species.

Why aren’t we paying attention to these and other critical problems?  In part because we can only focus on so much at one time, and our attention is constantly diverted by other things:  Donald Trump, Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, Donald Trump, the war between Israel & Hamas, Donald Trump, chaos in Congress, Donald Trump, inflation, etc.  And in part, the proliferation of lies and false news such as what is reported by Fox ‘News’, Newsmax, and on social media.

  • What would it take to refocus our attentions onto the real matters at hand?

I’ve given this a lot of thought, Jason, and unfortunately, I fear that what it will take is a major disaster.  I’m talking about either a nuclear ‘event’, or something along those lines. Something that causes every single person to be so busy simply trying to survive that they don’t have time to play political games, and that would be a great economic ‘equalizer’ … the rich man’s money would have no more value than a fallen leaf from a tree.  Something that drives people together, causes them to forget those things like skin colour, gender, religion, or ethnicity that divide them today.  I wish I had a less dramatic answer, but …

  • If you were approached by a voter who is undecided or is not enthused with the selection as we will see here, what advice would you give tot that person?

Sometimes we don’t have ideal choices, but we must do the research, determine who is the “lesser of two evils” as it were, and vote for that person.  Voting is a right, but perhaps even more importantly it is a responsibility.  We each have a responsibility to the nation, to the planet, to our families, to every living creature to do our best to make wise choices that will ultimately help solve, rather than create, problems.  Failure to vote is akin to telling your grandchildren that you don’t care what happens to them in the future.

  • Political discussions have become the main factor in families falling apart and friendships ending. What advice would you give to the person if faced with someone who likes to talk politics- stranger or friend alike?

I’m probably the wrong person to ask this question, for I have lost many friends due to my political views in the last 10 years or so, starting with my support of President Obama, and later my quite negative views on Donald Trump.  The best advice I can give is just don’t even let politics enter the discussion, but in this day and age, that’s not an easy task. 

  • How does your website stand out from the rest? What are some of the items one will find in the webpage?

Variety!  While my site is definitely focused on social and political issues, I do a completely politic-free post every Monday morning titled “Jolly Monday” with puns, memes, cartoons, and ending with a cute or funny animal video. And on Wednesday mornings I do a “Good People” post that highlights the many people in this world who are doing things to help others, to make this world a little better place for us all.  And music … every day I do a music post … mostly featuring songs that I like, but I also take requests.  I do a bit of research and include some background trivia about the song and/or the artist, then play a video of the song and post the lyrics, too.  And at least once during the week, usually twice, I do a post of 20-25 of the week’s best political cartoons.  Every now and then I venture far afield and try my hand at fiction, writing a short story that has popped into my head.  There’s something for everyone at Filosofa’s Word!

  • Any future plans for your website? 

No, not at the moment.  I have more than enough to keep me busy, I work a minimum of 10-12 hours a day doing research, writing, responding to comments, etc., and I have no desire to expand on that!  I think I have found my niche and I’m happy in it.

*******

Thank you Jill for your time. Check out her website and subscribe to follow up on the current events. Some stories from her will follow this interview, as well as other columnists who have written extensively about this topic, especially with the upcoming US elections. But for now, click on the page that will lead you directly to her website:

12 thoughts on “An Interview with Jill Dennison

  1. Jason, kudos for picking such an excellent candidate for your interview. Jill’s take on all things is well-thought out and her comments on the major concerns – environment, wealth inequality and bigotry are spot on. Well done. Keith

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Like Jill, I underestimated Trump in 2016. I foolishly thought, Any rational person can see this is an “Emperor Has No Clothes” candidate. He is a braggart, has no character, and preys upon people’s fears. Much to my surprise, he was elected. It still is a mystery to me how he can be so popular for someone who regularly demeans others while behaving in a way that we wouldn’t tolerate from our own children. The fact that Biden and Trump are neck and neck, given Trump’s lack of morals, scares the hell out of me.

    Liked by 5 people

  3. Thank you for featuring Jill in this interview. I’ve been following her for a few years now and always learn something new from her. I wasn’t much into politics until I began reading her posts. Now my friends cross the street to avoid me and I’ve been almost banned from one network for reposting her blog. Actually told to stop with the politics! And “the stories are not relevant to us.” But each time I’m in overload and ready to stop blogging myself, I go back. I read more, and I am afraid for my grandchildren and great-grandchildren. They won’t know a future if Trump is allowed back in power.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Great interview that brought up some very interesting points. Here in Australia, our last Prime Minister was a Trump-fan-wannabe. We turfed him out 2 years ago in favour of a Labor Prime Minister.

    Labor is more progressive than the US Democrats and is generally elected when the conservatives become too much ‘on the nose’. But there are two more reasons as well. The first is that we have a massive number of Independents, so the toxic self obsession of the two major parties is tempered by the need to co-operate with the Independents.

    As a general rule, the Independents lean towards ‘middle Australia’ so co-operation with them balances the extremes.

    The second reason is our system of compulsory voting. We are a very young democracy, and right from the start, eligible voters have had to vote, like it or not. We’ve increased the range of who is ‘eligible’, including women [rolls eyes], but compulsory voting has not changed. And oddly enough, people do vote, even though the fine for not voting is ridiculously small.

    So what’s the big deal? The big deal is that middle Australia has to make a choice, and most of the time, that choice is not as extreme as the two tails of the Bell curve. That is what majority rule is all about: the extremes being balanced by the middle.

    Sadly, I don’t see democracy surviving in the US unless people recognize that the rights they take for granted will evaporate if they don’t defend them. Not with guns, but with a vote. 😦

    Liked by 5 people

  5. As an outsider looking in albeit (I do have family in the US) I agree and love Jill’s

    answers to your questions. Jason as I also feel if Trump get elected the fallout will cross continents…we should all be scared .

    Liked by 4 people

  6. Jason, you made an excellent choice for an interviewee in Jill. What I have always thoroughly admired about her blog-posts, especially on important U.S. sociopolitical topics and on the world events such as Climate Change, is how well researched her topics have been given. Honestly, I don’t see how she has the necessary time to do such powerful studies and reading! She MUST have a Tardis time-machine packed away in her closet or garage. 😉 Nevertheless, this was a superb read. Well done Jason and equally so to Ms. Dennison. ❣️

    I have just two simple comments on this fine interview that I will try to keep brief. You asked her:

    This upcoming election will see a redux between Joe Biden and Donald Trump, something that has been talked about especially because of age. Why are Americans supporting them?

    Jill is spot on with her answer. I also know Jill well enough that she could have spent a good 500–800+ words more on the multi-faceted causes of exactly why Americans, both ignorantly or otherwise, “support them.” If I may Jason/Jill, here is an additional supplement to Jill’s correct answer, perhaps for your non-American readers with a basic understanding of our country’s sociopolitical landscape and its modern historical origins…

    As Jill alluded to, we essentially have no other legitimate choices of seriously challenging candidates to our long-established Two Party Only system. As your commenter acflory pointed out about their party system in Australia, the U.S. now more than ever badly needs another juggernaut (Independent?) third party. That’s the first necessity. The second and even more critical necessity is a repeal of the 2010 Supreme Court Landmark Decision of Citizens United v FEC. Why?

    Another obvious and now chronic problem with our elected state and federal offices is the average age group of the candidates. The primary reason that so many of our elected officials are ‘elderly’ or even geriatric is due to the obese amounts of money poured into campaign funding and Dark-gifting to politicians allowed by Citizens United v FEC. Young aspiring political candidates simply do not possess nor can they obtain in a reasonable amount of time the millions upon billions of dollars to run for election and sustain the service for 2, 4, 6, or 8 terms. Only the upper 5%–10% of the U.S. population has that sort of wealth unless backed by mega-wealthy corporations (who, thanks to the 2010 SCOTUS decision) and private Dark Donors with their own private “special interests” have flooded American politics with obese amounts of money for THEIR political puppets. This is why so few young politicians avoid public office and service; only the geriatric wealthy can afford to campaign and sustain.

    And this recent American political-legal history of money buys votes and elections today frames Jill’s answer below to your “Voter-turnout rates” of unenthused and/or lazy American voters or rather non-voters. This is appallingly true in my native home state of Texas. The last 30+ years Texas has hit the bottom one-fourth or bottom one-third of voter turnout rates in the entire nation. Jill is spot-on once again:

    Sometimes we don’t have ideal choices, [for the above reasons I’ve noted] but we must do the research, [the legwork and] determine who is the “lesser of two evils” as it were, and vote for that person. Voting is a right, but perhaps even more importantly it is a responsibility. We each have a responsibility to the nation, to the planet, to our families, to every living creature to do our best to make wise choices that will ultimately help solve, rather than create, problems. Failure to vote is akin to telling your grandchildren that you don’t care what happens to them in the future.

    As an 8th-generation Texan myself, this is not only shameful, but a very real surrender of one’s sacred, virtuous Constitutional rights and liberties which Texans have been slowly tossing away since 1995 and Gov. George W. Bush’s terms. America’s democratic deterioration is a direct result of far too many lazy Americans NOT utilizing their (supposed?) high school learned critical-thinking and analysis skills in order to distinguish between general facts vs personal opinions, bias vs equity, oligarchy vs egalitarian, human rights for all vs rights only for the few.

    Outstanding interview Jason and Jill. Very well done and insightful! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  7. so many interesting comments here. I wish I had the time and leisure to follow your blog regularly. Thanks for interviewing Jill. She is such an outstanding and truly human figure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment