Lost Potential by Ana Beatriz Ribeiro

My values have changed

but I still find myself here

comparing myself to others,

scrolling mindlessly,

.

ruminating and wasting

energy thinking of lives

seen only through a half-

cracked window and they

.

tell us it all looks better

from the outside but then

they turn around and put

on a new mask every time.

.

What if I got rid of this screen?

If I embraced the comfort of

feeling the pavement against

my feet and of hearing

.

the humming of engines and

the birds and the breeze?

Could I also go on oblivious

to the latest status update

.

engineered to record our every

move in exchange for a hit

of dopamine never enough

to validate the self we’ve

.

sacrificed to the tech gods,

to the sparkly idols on stage,

to the idea we’re never enough

without an ideal we can’t attain?

.

They tell us to follow our

passion and not to make

ourselves small especially

when we’ve been oppressed,

.

to grab the opportunities

made finally available to us

by trailblazers who cared

but the goalpost keeps being

.

moved further away and

this hard drive we call our

planet is running out of

space and overheating when

.

we all accumulate and

the disrupters are only held up

as such when they uphold

the system behind the frame.

.

What if I finally unplugged?

Would I spend the rest of

my days floundering in

a dark night of the soul?

.

Forever reaching for my phone

while my lost potential’s mourned:

I could have been so much

if only I had conformed.